Pacific Pictures

you are at South Pacific Photos: American Samoa
South Pacific Map

American Samoa Travel Photos

American Samoa is the eastern half of the Samoan archipelago (the western half is an independent country called Samoa). It's the only U.S. territory south of the equator, annexed as a naval base in 1900 but no longer of any military significance. The bulk of the population lives on the main island, Tutuila, with only one village on neighbouring Aunuu. The three islands of the Manua Group (Ofu, Olosega, and Tau) are a hundred kilometers east.

Our American Samoa pictures illustrate the territory's high volcanic peaks which plunge dramatically to white coral beaches. The Samoans live mostly in small villages and get around on family-owned buses. Tuna packing is the main industry with two large canneries on Pago Pago Harbor. You can fly there from Hawaii.

All photos on are by David Stanley, author of Moon Handbooks South Pacific. The images on this page are details. To view the complete photos, click on the thumbnails.

Ofu and Olosega

Ofu and Olosega, Manua Group

The beach and reef along the southeast side of Ofu Island, Manua Group, were included in American Samoa National Park in 1988. Piumafua Mountain on the right side of our photo is part of Olosega Island, connected to Ofu by a bridge.
Village Meeting House

A village meeting house at Leone village, Tutuila.

Pago Pago Harbor

Rainmaker Mountain looms above a supply boat at Fagatogo, Tutuila.

Bridge to Ofu Island Naval Gun Pola Island off Tutuila

Ofu and Olosega islands in the Manua Group are joined by a bridge.

A six-inch naval gun emplaced on Blunt's Point, Tutuila, in 1941.

Countless seabirds inhabit the cliffs of tiny Pola Island off Tutuila.

Bus Station, Fagatogo Tuna Cannery, Pago Pago Harbor Aunuu Ferries at Tutuila

Family-operated buses at the bus station adjoining Fagatogo Market, Tutuila.

The StarKist Samoa tuna cannery on Pago Pago Harbor, Tutuila.

Alia fishing boats are used as ferries between Tutuila and Aunuu.

American Samoa| Cook Islands| Easter Island| Fiji| French Polynesia| Micronesia| New Caledonia| Niue| Samoa| Solomon Islands| Tokelau| Tonga| Tuvalu| Vanuatu| Wallis and Futuna